AAEA member Johnson Controls recognized for leadership in energy efficiency

NORTH LITTLE ROCK – Today, the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality announced the winners of the 2017 Environmental Awards at the State Capitol.

Goodwill Industries of Arkansas was chosen as the winner of the 13th annual Arkansas Environmental Stewardship Award, “ENVY Award.” Goodwill Industries diverts an average of twenty-five million pounds of waste annually from our state’s landfills and then reinvests 96% of the revenue generated from the diversion back into communities by providing education, training, and employment services.

The 2nd annual Arkansas Environmental Technology Award, “TECHe Award,” was presented to L’Oréal USA. L’Oréal’s “Sharing Beauty with All” program seeks ambitious goals for reducing their environmental impact through the entire life cycle of its products. L’Oréal is embracing its goals for operation, a 60% reduction from a 2005 baseline in water consumption, waste generation, and carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions by the year 2020. At the end of 2016, an 82% reduction in water consumption, a 40% reduction in waste, and a 76% reduction in CO2 emissions was achieved. L’Oréal installed a 1.2 megawatt solar array on its property in North Little Rock.

Arkansas State University—Jonesboro was named the recipient of the inaugural E2 Award. ASU—Jonesboro and Johnson Controls signed a $15 million guaranteed energy savings contract through the Arkansas Energy Performance Contracting Program in February 2016, which will upgrade lighting, water, HVAC, and energy management systems across the campus. The project is guaranteed to save ASU—Jonesboro over $25 million dollars in utility and operational savings over the next twenty years.

Director Becky Keogh announced the winners who were presented their award by Governor Asa Hutchinson. Finalists for each of the awards, state and local officials, and others were in attendance.

CONTACT: Kelly Robinson (robinson@adeq.state.ar.us or 501.682.0916)