A bill to enable state agencies to meet energy savings goals already enacted by the Arkansas legislature passed a key test today when the Senate Committee on State Agencies and Governmental Affairs, chaired by Sen. Eddie Joe WIlliams, R-Cabot, unanimously agreed to send it to the full Senate.

SB340, introduced by Senator David Johnson, D-Little Rock, and Rep. Greg Leding, D-Fayetteville, would amend a 2009 act intended to promote energy savings in the 2,500 buildings currently maintained by Arkansas State Government.

The bill received close scrutiny by committee members who questioned Sen. Johnson; Ken Smith, Policy Director of AAEA; and Melanie Hayes of SRC Solutions, a member of AAEA.  Most questions focused on the performance guarantee that is defined in the bill.  The Committee was assured by the panel that the new rules were written to protect the state in the event that energy cost savings guaranteed by the qualified provider are not realized.